American Flat Track on NBCSN Breaks 2 Million Viewers with Five Telecasts Remaining in 2018

NBCSN audiences up 56%; FansChoice.tv live stream viewership up more than 100%
Image
Photo Credit: Scott Hunter/American Flat Track

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (August 30, 2018) – American Flat Track, the world’s fastest-growing motorsport, set a new viewership record during 2018 with a total of more than 2 million viewers tuning in to watch this year’s premiere telecasts on NBCSN.

The 2 million number, generated with five weekend telecasts remaining in the 2018 schedule, represents a significant viewership increase over the 1.8 million viewers that watched AFT on NBCSN telecasts during all of 2017.

On average, telecasts on NBCSN are reaching 56% more viewers in 2018 than in 2017. This year’s shows have also introduced new and younger fans to the sport, resulting in a 50% increase in viewership in the key 24-years-and-younger demographic.

“American Flat Track’s partnership with NBC Sports has been the catalyst for our sport to break through to a whole new generation of fans across the country,” said Michael Lock, CEO of American Flat Track. “The extraordinary growth in viewership is testament to the exciting bar-to-bar action taking place at iconic racetracks almost every weekend through the spring and summer. We are very proud of our competitors and our series.”

American Flat Track’s digital/live streaming numbers have also gone through the roof. FansChoice.tv viewership has seen triple-digit gains, with an average of more than 30,000 unique viewers tuning in to each event. This represents an increase of 109% over 2017’s average unique viewers on FansChoice.tv.

 

Next up for American Flat Track fans on FansChoice.tv:

·      Springfield Short Track: September 1 at 5:00 pm ET (2 pm PT)

·      Springfield Mile II: September 2 at 11:00 am ET (8 am PT)

·      Williams Grove Half-Mile: September 8 at 3:30 pm ET (12:30 pm PT)

·      Minnesota Mile: September 29 at 3:00 pm ET (12 pm PT)

·      Meadowlands Mile: October 6 at 2:45 pm ET (11:45 am PT)

Next up for American Flat Track fans on NBCSN:

·      Peoria TT: September 1 at 3:00 pm ET (12 pm PT)

·      Springfield Mile II: September 22 at 2:30 pm ET (11:30 am PT)

·      Williams Grove Half-Mile: September 23 at 5:00 pm ET (2 pm PT)

·      Minnesota Mile: October 14 at 5:00 pm ET (2 pm PT)

·      Meadowlands Mile: October 21 at 2:00 pm ET (11 am PT)

How to Watch:

NBCSN and FansChoice.tv are the official homes for coverage of American Flat Track. For the 2018 season, NBCSN’s coverage of AFT moves to highly-coveted, weekend afternoon programming slots within two weeks of each event. The complete schedule for AFT on NBCSN can be viewed at http://www.americanflattrack.com/events-nbcsn/. FansChoice.tv remains a cornerstone of AFT’s digital strategy, providing live streaming coverage of every event on AFT’s live page while previous events and exclusive features are available on AFT’s VOD page.

About American Flat Track:
American Flat Track is the world’s premier dirt track motorcycle racing series and one of the longest-running championships in the history of motorsports. Sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing in Daytona Beach, Fla., the series is highly regarded as the most competitive form of dirt track motorcycle racing on the globe. For more information on American Flat Track, please visit http://www.americanflattrack.com, like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, check us out on Instagram, live stream the events at FansChoice.tv and catch all the American Flat Track racing action on NBCSN.